Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes April 21 2016, 2016, 3:00 – 5:00 p.m. Reitz Union Auditorium

Paul Davenport called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m. and the March minutes were approved.

Chair's Report

Paul Davenport, Faculty Senate Chair

Distinguished Professor Lecture Series continues on Monday, April 25 at 4 p.m. in Emerson Hall

President's Report

Kent Fuchs, President

- Update on the fund raising capital campaign will be presented at the State of the University Address.
- Senator Joe Negron visited this week. He shares our goal that UF should be amongst the very best of the universities in the country. The University <u>printed a brochure</u> that was presented to the Senator.
- Congratulations and thank you to faculty for teaching our many students.

Provost's Report

Joe Glover, Provost

- The new Dean for College of Design, Construction and Planning is Dr. Chimay Anumba. Dr. Anumba serves as Head of the Deaprtment of Architectural Engineering at Penn State. He will start August 1, 2016.
- Dean John Kraft has decided to stop down from his position at the College of Business. A search committee is in the preliminary stages.

Action Items:

Chair-Elect Election:

- Each candidate gave a 5 minute presentation about their qualification and goals before the vote.
 - o Chris Hass, Associate Professor, Applied Physiology and Kinesiology, HHP
 - David Quillen, Associate Professor, Community Health & Family Medicine, MED
 - David Quillen was elected Chair-Elect by majority vote (Chris Hass 43; David Quillen – 51)

MS Degree Name Change

Paul Davenport, Chair

Faculty Senate

Recreation, Parks & Tourism to

Tourism and Recreation Management

- Chair Davenport presented for Paul Duncan, Associate Dean, Graduate School.
- College of Health and Human Performance requests to change the name for the MS degree program from Recreation, Parks and Tourism to Tourism and Recreation Management.

Information Items:

University Budget System

Mike McKee, Vice President and CFO Greg Dubois, Asst. Vice President Finance and Planning

 Mike McKee explained the process of the recent five year budget review. He started with the different committees' responsibilities and charges followed by the overview of work. The next step after presenting at the Senate meeting is to make final adjustments and run the final model.

2015 UFPD Response to Resistance Report

Chief Linda Stump-Kurnick, UF Police Dept

Liz Screaton

Nicole Stedman

- Chief Stump-Kurnick gave the annual UFPD report on Response to Resistance to the senate. The presentation provided:
 - A brief overview of the Police Department operations and response to resistance training.
 - o An overview of response to resistance incidents for 2015.
 - o A comparison of response to resistance statistics and local law enforcement agencies.

Senate IT Committee

Jose Trevino, Chair

Committee on Committees

Committee on Committees was given the charge to determine the structure of a new IT
committee. Dr. Trevino presented the committee's recommendation for this new committee.
This item will be an action item at the next senate meeting.

Open Discussion

Meeting adjourned at 4:15 p.m.

Senators Attending

James Collins

Roger Fillingim

John Abbitt **David Groisser** Brandi Ormerod Mark Panning Carrie Adams Charles Haddad David Quillen Luis Alvarez-Castro Jacob Hammer **Chris Hass** Sarah Reuss Wayne Archer Jane Bachelor Darryl Heard Alice Rhoton-Vlasak Lars Beattie Marc Heft **Churchill Roberts** Jeffrey Rollins Gary Boulware Phyllis Hendry Dimitri Bourilkov Raymond Issa **Andrew Rosalsky** Rae Jesano Leah Rosenberg Jeannine Brady Kristy Breuhl Smith Melissa Johnson Jean-Francois Roulet Samantha Brooks Edith Kaan Karen Sando Thomas Buford Bahareh Keith John Sansalone Nico Cellinese Christine Kelly-Begazo Susan Schaffer

Christa Cook Mei-Fang Lan Susan Semple-Rowland

Deborah Cupples Sherry Larkin Nipa Shah
Michael Dark John Lilly SA Sherif
Michelle Darnell Gillian Lord Meera Sitharam

Heather Kent

Paul DavenportAlex LucasDaniel SiragusaTammy DavidsonVolker MaiTina Smith-BonahueSylvain DoreChristopher MartinezLauren SolbergSilvio dos SantosEugene McavoyFred SouthwickIbrahim FaruqiWilliam McGeheeElisa Sottile

Joshua Freeman Kelly Morgan Margaret Temple-Smith

Carrie GeigerIrfan NasirDavid TherriaultLyn GettysAshley NorseRay ThomasRenee GoodrichWalter Ol'DellJenny Tucker

Nancy Moores

Sonal Tuli

Hansvan Oostrom

Wagner Vendrame

Heather Vincent

Katie Vogel-Anderson

Jay Watkins

Ratree Wayland

Ann Wehmeyer

Barbara Welsch

Brigitte Weltman-Aron

Nicole Whitehead

Caroline Wiltshire

Patricia Woods

Henry Young

Mary Ellen Young

Liaisons

Kent Fuchs

Joe Glover

Michael Perri

Beverly Sanders

James Seale

Jose Trevino

Students

Mirna Amaya

Guests

Greg Dubois

Mike McKee

Linda Stump-Kurnick